France, Aug 9, 1917

Dearest Emma;-

Your letter enclosing one from your sister Enid came to hand a few minutes ago, 5 days from England. Some of my letters must be going astray for in one or two of them I have asked questions to which you never refer in your letters. Your sister’s letter interested me very much. Is Enid the girl I met in Calgary the time Margaret was there 3 years ago? By the way Margaret has been moving about considerably since we left England and was up to a C.C.S. in time for the big battle in Flanders. I shall enclose a letter from her which I received to day.

It is raining again and the visability is low. The weather man is certainly out to do all he can for the Hun. The first thing we know it will be Winter with us again and mud everlasting. We need fine weather in the business of smashing the Boche.

Well I have decided to do it, that is to say, make for a bomb proof or rather semi bomb proof job. I told the A.D.M.C. to day that I would accept his offer and go to 5th Canadian Field Ambulance. The transfer will not take place at once and I shall probably have at least one more trip in the line. So don’t worry any more concerning my safety, Dear Girl. Have you been really worried very much about me? Isn’t it a symptom of frightful selfishness on my part to feel pleased that you should be anxious? At the same time the knowledge increases, if that were possible the tenderness I feel for you. As a matter of fact I am in practically no danger and it would be an accident if I should get hit, I shall feel sorry in many ways to leave the old battalion and the friends I have in it with whom I have gone through so much. However it is probably in both my own interest and that of the service that I should make the change. Our dear old colonel was very nice to me when I told him of my coming departure but he very strongly advised me to make the change. The only worry I have over my change of unit is the question of that months leave. Col. Bell would have put it through for me but it may not be easy to get from the field ambulance. I want to marry you as soon as possible and the ordinary 10 days leave would not be enough time, would it? I had had dreams for the past two years of rushing home to Calgary “after the war” and looking you up at once. Now you have come to the war but the end still looks far off.

Please excuse this very short letter, the muse is on strike.

Yours lovingly

Harold W McGill

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2006/11/20/france-aug-9-1917/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

