France, Aug 14, 1917

Dear Girlie;-

I was wonderfully pleased to get your letter of Aug 6, the first I have had from you for 5 days. Your letter did not reach me until 1 A.M. this morning having been over seven days on the road. I wonder what delays the English mail. My sister’s letters sometimes reach me in two days but of course we are within a couple of hours motor ride from each other.

As I remarked I was greatly pleased with your letter and have read it over and over again, just eating up the flattery it contained as I would sugar plums. Of course all men are greatly pleased with flattery even they know in the bottom of their hearts that they are entitled to a particle of the praise so liberally bestowed. I am afraid you must be somewhat of a diplomatist or you would never bring yourself to say all the very very nice, although alas untrue, things your letter contained.

I have just finished a letter to my dear little sister telling her all about it. I shall anxiously await her reply. I do hope she is pleased but of course one can never tell; she may have had altogether other plans for me; you will know what sisters are. I am in hopes that her unit may be moved up behind our sector for in that case I can call and talk things over with her.

I am indulging in a lot of pipe dreams these days but such very pleasant pastime does not lead to any very definite results in regard to our future plans and prospects. You see I cannot tell when I shall be able to get away on leave again or for how long the leave may be granted. My change to the Field Ambulance makes the situation still more obscure. As I told you before I could feel practically certain of obtaining the month’s leave from the battalion, in fact Col. Bell offered to recommend me for it just after the Vimy Ridge show. It may not be so easy to get after I transfer and it may be some months before I can get leave of any kind, six or eight months I mean. I wish we could as you say have a quiet little heart to heart talk on the subject. In the meantime I think you had better just “Carry on”. After we are married I should like a nice little home in England as a refuge from the storms of war when I go over on leave. What you would do with yourself in the long intervals is the question that is troubling me. Officers’ wives are not allowed to take on war work in France, i.e. in any regular military establishment.

I am almost ashamed to send this measley short letter in reply to your lovely long one. Must close now and get to work.

With best of love and affection I am

Yours for ever

Harold W McGill

Published in: on November 27, 2006 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2006/11/27/france-aug-14-1917/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

