France, Sept 12, 1917

Dear Emma;-

I have your two letters of Sept 3 and 6, respectively. The latter reached me this afternoon. No, I do not think it likely that many, if any, letters are lost between here and England although it certainly takes them a long time to come and go. I write to you as a rule every other day but of course sometimes 3 or 4 days elapse between my letters.

The looting mania seems to have taken possession of you that you wish me to make away with furniture. What would you like, a set of dining room chairs or a baby grand piano? Wait until we get into Germany and I shall see what I can do. There was quite a lot of furniture, damaged and otherwise, left in Liévin when the Huns evacuated the place. I know of one case where a very nice piano that the Huns had been using was salvaged and afterwards put in very fair condition.

I have been particularly worried lately, as I think I mentioned in an earlier letter, about the political conditions in Canada. Isn’t it a fright the way the people are acting over there? They are really very little better than the Russians. The first idea of all the politicians seems to be to win the elections and the second to carry on with the war afterwards if such action is avisable from a political standpoint. Certainly if Laurier and his anti conscriptionist following get into power Canada will be out of the war so far as any more help is concerned. I see by some Calgary papers that I have that Geo Ross got up at the Liberal convention in Calgary and said he didn’t see why we should be using our men and money to help France get back Alsace & Lorraine. Now what do you think of that from a supposedly white ex alderman of Calgary at this stage of the war? I was pleased to see though that Davidson of the Albertan was one of the very few at the convention who came out flat footed in favor of conscription. It is hard enough for a man to stick and keep up his morale at this game month after month, and as it is turning out, year after year, even when he feels the people at home are solidly behind him. But when cowardly bounders get up and speak as above quoted it drives one wild.

Your friend Grant has returned to the unit but I haven’t seen him yet. Yes I am perfectly fit and well and we are not in the line.

Your lover,

Harold W McGill

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/01/29/france-sept-12-1917/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] France, Sept 12, 1917 January 29th, 2007 by AutoAggregator Dear Emma;- I have your two letters of Sept 3 and 6, respectively. The latter reached me this afternoon. No, I do not think it likely that many, if any, letters are lost between here and England although it certainly takes them a long time to come and go. I write to… […]


Leave a Reply

