France, Sept 17, 1917

Dearest Emma;-

I have your two letters of Sept 10 and 12 respectively. I do not know whether or not the stamps had anything to do with it but they each made the journey in one day less than any heretofore, i.e. in 5 days. I note that you received my letter of Sept 7 on Sept 12 the day you wrote. The time for my letter to reach you thus also works out to five days.

I am pleased to know that you have been hearing from your sisters. These letters will break the lonliness somewhat for you. There was a reference in one of your letters about Enid wearing a bracelet for the second time that was quite lost on me; I had never heard of the first time. Is there any romance or mystery about it? Do not fail to satisfy my curiosity when you write. I hope you will get your leave with Miss Reid on Oct 19. Have a try for it any way; you never get anything or anywhere in this military game without going after it.

You need have not the slightest fear of my becoming puffed up from anything Sandy Russell may say; he is the champion windjammer of two continents. Poor old Seaton! I know just how you feel about him. He has a most unfortunate personality which shows up in marked contrast to Col Hewgill’s sunny lovable nature. There are many things about Seaton I do not like, but I will always say this for him; I always felt safe in my dugout when he was in command of the company holding the line of trenches in front. I never felt fear of Germans suddenly appearing at the door of the dugout and bombing us. If that had occurred I should have known that Seaton and all his men were out of action. Seaton has had a hard struggle in life and I fancy many disappointments. Also he has poor health. These misfortunes have soured his disposition but one must admire his high sense of duty in a military capacity and his utter contempt of danger. I know you cannot like him, nobody could, but if you ever feel like being rough with him or “Turning him down” please remember that the poor chap has gone through a lot and has served his king and country to the best of his ability. Many officers who could make a much better figure at a social gathering are in England doing just that very thing because they lack the courage to face the enemy.

Please excuse this short letter.

Yours with best of love

Harold W McGill

Published in: on February 12, 2007 at 8:00 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/02/12/france-sept-17-1917/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] France, Sept 17, 1917 February 12th, 2007 by AutoAggregator Dearest Emma;- I have your two letters of Sept 10 and 12 respectively. I do not know whether or not the stamps had anything to do with it but they each made the journey in one day less than any heretofore, i.e. in 5 days. I note that you received my letter… […]


Leave a Reply

