France, Sept 30, 1917

Dear Emma;-

I had three letters to day, one from Canada and 2 from you. I had intended writing you to
day anyway in spite of the fact that I had had no word from you for 6 days. The reason your letters were not reaching me sooner though was because they were going to the battalion.

This is a most beautiful day and September is maintaining its record for fine weather right to the end. It would be a nice day for a ride on horse back. Most of the ambulance officers are out somewhere and I am staying in to keep house. My first official duty was taking charge of the church parade for the unit this morning. This was my third attendance at church parade since coming to France.

It may be that I shall be able to get short leave before very long but do you not think it would be better for me to wait a respectable time and then apply for the month? How long notice would you require before you would be ready to move? Of course if I get a month the urgency in regard to time would not be so great but in any case the longer we have to spend together the better isn’t it? At least it would be for me but you might be glad of a chance to ship me back to France again. I think I shall have to take the padre of the old battalion into my confidence the next time I see him and get some information and advice from him. He is a good sort. You see I haven’t the most nebulous idea of the proper proceedure and if I were to get leave to morrow would know less about the steps to take regarding getting married than I would about forming a joint stock company in England. You may have acquired some information on the subject before now. It is just 3 months ago to day since I landed in England for my last leave, the most enjoyable holiday I have ever had. How is the sprained ankle that was such a good friend of mine?

It may be that I shall get up to see Margaret this week. An ambulance car will be going up in the direction of her unit on Friday and if possible I shall go along and look the C.C.S. up. Of course I shall see other girls as well and thus be on equal terms with you who are meeting so many nice men at the hospital every day. The colonel says that it will be quite easy for me to get off for the day. That is one advantage of being with a F. Ambulance. With the battn. I was pretty well tied down all the time.

Please excuse this short letter and the official paper on which it is written. Give my very kindest regards to Miss Reid. Do you think that there is any danger of Hornby becoming a casualty?

Your lover

Harold W McGill

Published in: on March 5, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/03/05/france-sept-30-1917/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

