France, Oct 11, 1917

Dear Emma;-

I have your two letters of Oct 3 and Oct 5 respectively. The latter came yesterday and the former arrived this evening. Naturally when I read your letter yesterday I did not understand several references but the letter from Dr. Christie that you enclosed in the letter received to-day cleared up the mystery. I am pleased that you like the ring and hope it is a nice one. You see I did not have the privilege of getting a look at it myself but hope to see it on your finger in company with another one before many moons go by. Thank you ever so much for the cake which arrived to day. It will make a very welcome addition to our mess table.

I am pleased to know that you had a good time shopping in London and also that Major Hornby was on hand to do the honours of the occasion. Was it a daylight raid that you encountered?

Please quote the dates of letters you have received from me when you write. Some must be going astray for I write every two or three days, usually on the third day. Sometimes, I admit, the time elapsed runs into four days but not often. Do not whatever you do adopt a policy of reprisals for I dearly love to get your letters.

Our weather has been much better for the past two days and to-day was really fine. We are not at all busy but I am acting orderly officer for the week and cannot get out much. I have an invitation from an R.F.C. officer to go down to his aerodrome and take a joy ride with him but so far have not had an opportunity to take advantage of the offer. Lieut Walsh of Calgary was in our mess this afternoon and had “Afternoon tea” with us.

Have had quite a budget of Canadian mail recently and must soon get to work answering some of the letters. For a long time I got hardly any letters from Canada. Last night one arrived from my sister in Wpg., the first from her in over two months.

Now about those rings, I might have sent you more but picked only those bearing the respective coats of arms of cities I had visited in the course of our various military operations over here. I am glad you like the photo. And that reminds me I have not received one of your own sweet self yet; really you must hustle up your photographers a bit for I am most impatient.

You were well advised I think to change your hotel in London. I never liked that Regent Palace. It always appealed to me as being tawdry and vulgar. We had a nice time in London last Summer hadn’t we? I did at least and shall always love the old city and especially that comparatively modern institution the taxi. No I never did use taxis as a general thing for that sort of adventure. Were you ever really truly glad that you sprained your ankle? It was a lucky accident for me, much more so than any that ever landed me a patient.

Well good night and good fortune dear one

Yours ever

Harold W McGill

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/04/09/france-oct-11-1917/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

