France, Oct 28, 1917

My dear sweetheart;-

I have your two very nice letters of Oct. 19 & 20 respectively. I did not have a chance to write you for several days but acknowledged the receipt of your letters in a “whiz bang” that I sent and which I hope you received.

Do you know I had been counting all the time on being married in London. Somehow I never thought of any other place. In any case it must be by special license. Don’t you think so? Have you been able to find your friend Archdeacon Page? The only padre I know that I have much use for is Capt. Appleyard of the 31st Battalion. He is a fine chap and will probably be transferred to England before long. If you have not picked someone by the time we need him we might have Capt. Appleyard. One day in a joke he promised to perform the marriage ceremony for me at any time for nothing, having no more idea that I had such intention any more than I contemplated a trip to the moon. I have not written to Col. Hewgill yet but must do so soon. The only difficulty about making arrangements is the great uncertainty regarding dates. I have just heard though that the regular leave during the Winter months is to be of 14 days duration instead of ten. Do not indulge too much in your day dreaming for if one of Bertha Krupp’s messengers over takes me you will have to revise all your program, or at least substitute somebody in my place in the scheme.

The war news from Italy has been shockingly bad recently but we shall all have to make up our minds to just “Carry on”. I am pleased though that political events in Canada have taken a more favourable turn. The prospects for the enforcement of conscription now seem quite favourable.

Had a letter from Margaret a few days ago. At present I am not so very far away from her unit but have not been able to get down yet to see her again. Expect I shall though before long. Was up to No. 3 last night with a motor ambulance.

Two or three big bundles of Calgary papers arrived the other day from Dr. Chambers. Chambers is not much of a hand at letter writing but is constantly sending me papers and parcels to show that he has not forgotten me. He is a good chap. I saw something in one of the papers about Dr. W.E. Graham leaving for England. Surely he hasn’t decided to come to the war. As a rule Calgary papers do not interest me much now. The adventures of Mr Jiggs in “Bringing up Father” are about the only interesting features.

Good bye for present.

Your lover

Harold W McGill

Published in: on May 21, 2007 at 8:00 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/05/21/france-oct-28-1917/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Captain Edward Appleyard – the chaplain mentioned in this letter, was my great grandfather. I would be quite interested in contacting you to discuss the letters.


Leave a Reply

