France, Nov 1, 1917

Dearest Emma;-

Forgive me the very short letter I am about to write. I had intended writing you yesterday but simply did not get a chance. I have been quite busy during the past week and expect to be still busier during the week to come. Do not worry if you do not hear from me but I shall try to send you a F.S. post card from time to time even if there are no chances to write letters. I have not had a letter from you since I last wrote but I know that there must be one or more on the way.

You ask me if I think of you often. My dear girl, there is not an hour of the day when I do not think of you and of us when we meet once more, for I too have my day dreams. When I feel somewhat depressed as I do to-day (because the weather is bad I suppose) the desire for your love and sympathy is very keen.

Had a letter from Margaret to-day asking me why I had not been down to see her. It does seem too bad that I cannot get down to visit her unit when we are within a reasonable distance of it but my duties at present will simply not allow it and I dislike intensely asking another man to take over my work while I go off on a pleasure jaunt. There will be plenty of chances later on and patience is a virtue much required in this war game.

So soon as the period of active military operations come to an end for the winter, or sooner if they are much prolonged, I shall ask for a month’s leave. If I cannot get a month I shall soon be due in any case for 14 days leave and if you are willing we can complete our contract during that time. How many days notice will you require? I am eagerly looking forward to the time when I can slip that little ring on your finger. We must have a simple quiet wedding.. I have been thinking that we might spend our honeymoon in Scotland but I shall leave the decision as to that with you. Do not think me silly to talk like this. For many years I have lead a somewhat lonely life and your confession of love has been a source of great happiness to me. If we are not happy together in the future the fault will be mine for asking you to take such a chance with me. Of course we shall have our periods of trouble and anxiety but most troubles are serious or otherwise according to the view point. Are you of a forgiving disposition?

Was very sorry indeed to hear of the Flesher’s great sorrow. I hope that the new born baby will turn out to be a comfort to them.

Yours lovingly

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on May 28, 2007 at 9:35 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/05/28/france-nov-1-1917/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

