France, Nov 18, 1917

Dearest Emma;-

Your 3 letters of Nov. 11, 12 & 13 respectively came to hand this afternoon. We shall probably be more or less settled within a few days and thereafter I shall be able to write you more frequently as well as receive your very sweet and soul satisfying letters more or less regularly.

I do hope that you will be quite well by the time this reaches you; I have been quite anxious about you. No word of the months leave yet but I shall put in for it before long. Do you know our second in/c Major Burgess had a letter from someone to day in which you were mentioned? The letter said that it was reported that you were to marry Dr McGill of Calgary. The Major showed me the paragraph in the letter but did not give me the name of his correspondent.

Thank you ever so much for the photo which I am very pleased to have although I must candidly say that I do not think it anywhere nearly does you justice. It is not nearly as good as the one you sent me from Calgary.

It is really too bad about Major Powis and I am sure Col. Hewgill must feel his death very much for they were great friends. He leaves a wife and one little girl in England. I heard that your friend Grant was slightly wounded but have not learned any particulars. I saw quite a number of 31st wounded, officers & O.R. coming through the M.D.S. but he was not among them. I could always pick out the 31st men, even before I saw their patches, by the grins with which they showed their recognition of me. They were a fine lot of boys and I hate to think of the many left buried in the Flanders mud. Of course I mean the killed for I believe all our wounded were got out from the recent fighting.

Lt. Col. Kapelle is our O.C. and is a first rate and likable man. I called to see Col. Bell the other day at the Hq of the brigade he is commanding. It was the first time I had seen him since I left the old battalion. Please excuse this scrawly letter.

Yours very much in love

Harold W McGill

Published in: on July 2, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/07/02/france-nov-18-1917/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

