France, Dec 30, 1917

My dear wife;-

I was partly expecting a letter from you in the mail to day but none arrived. Are you sorry yet that you did it? I hope not. I am enclosing you another small list of persons whom I should like to receive announcements. You will see that I am not very sure of the addresses of some of them. Perhaps also you have already included some of the names in your list. Regarding the officers of the 31st named in my previous list I should like the name of Major C. H. Westmore added if you decide to send to any particular officers of the unit. Do you know whether or not Mrs. R.G. Brett is still alive? I think she is, although in the back of my mind I have a sort of an idea that I have heard something about her death since I came to Europe. In any case I should like the old Doctor to have an announcement.

Our weather is still very miserable. The ground is still covered with snow but it is not quite so frosty as during the past few days. I went to church parade this morning and this afternoon have been reading and letter writing. I have acknowledged 3 Christmas parcels since I returned and still have 4 to open and acknowledge. I wrote to Mrs. A.G. Clarke this afternoon. She sent me a big parcel containing candy, socks, maple sugar, and all sorts of things. I shall not open up any more until we get the contents of some of those already investigated at least partially consumed. I like to write and thank the sender as soon as I open a parcel before I forget what it contained.

Now for a terrible confession: I have not yet written to Major Mayhood but shall do so this evening. I shall address it to No 12 Canadian General Hospital Bramshott and I trust he will receive it alright.

I am dreaming about you every night and sometimes, often in fact, I wonder when and where I shall see you again. You are very very dear to me my sweet girl and I am looking forward longingly to the time when we can really begin living our lives together. In the meantime I must get on with my small part in the war. There is a long rough road ahead of us.

Kind regards to Mrs. Daughty.

Yours ever

Harold W McGill

Published in: on September 10, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/09/10/france-dec-30-1917/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

