France, Jan 30, 1918

Dear Emma; –

Your letter with the enclosure from Gunn & Selby reached me yesterday. I am returning you this for disposal as you wish. I shall probably see one or both of them before long and can then make a suitable reply in person. I shall never forget the time Col. Gunn confronted me last summer with Selby’s evidence of our intentions.. It took me absolutely aback. You had pledged me to absolute secrecy and had then straightway proceeded to tell Reid. As it turned out you might just as well have posted the news on the Bramshott Camp bulletin board. There was no mystery as to how people got to know was there? Not that it matters a little bit, but it made one feel like a fool to have what I considered to be a matter known only to the two of us thus laid open for my information and necessary action. For course I stalled, not knowing what you had given out, and did not even thank Gunn for his congratulations. When he saw me non committal he was gentleman enough not to refer to the matter further, thinking no doubt that there was something connected with the affair of which I was ashamed, which of course was certainly not the case. I was very nearly writing you a red hot letter after that for it felt at the time that I had been put in a false position as it were.

Now that I have got this grouch disposed of I shall try to improve the tone of my letter a little. The Canadian mail is in and I got 4 letters yesterday, 2 from my brother, 1 from Frances and 1 from Dr. Chambers. Dr. Chambers wrote me a charming letter and I shall forward it to you when I next write. He had obtained the news from Mrs. Murphy. Oh! Before I forget it I had better tell you that Col. Gunn was altogether wrong in addressing me as “Major”. My new visiting cards are still perfectly in order and likely to be so for some time to come.

I am enclosing a letter in connection with your separation allowance. As you see it will be necessary for you to forward your marriage certificate to Chief Paymaster O.M.F.C. at Pay Office 7, Millbank, London S.W.1. You had better send it by registered mail. You should have a months back pay coming to you by the time the thing goes through. I applied for separation allowance from Jan 1, 1918 the date of your resignation.

My Baltimore parcel of knitted woolens arrived the day before yesterday and I am now wearing the sweater. The set contained a knitted cap, a sweater, a pair of wristlets and a scarf. The latter is not nearly so nice as the one I received from my wife so I have decided not to run away from home for the present at any rate. Isn’t it a terrible thing for an old married man to accept such things from a young lady? Do you think I had better return them when the weather becomes warm and they are no longer useful?

I shall close with my assurance of devoted and lasting affection.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on November 21, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/11/21/france-jan-30-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

