France, Feb 2, 1918

Dear Wife; –

I am sure you would pardon my very short letter of yesterday evening. The D.A. & I.M.G. was here looking over the camp in the afternoon and after he left I had only time to scratch a few lines before the mail left.

My dear, I think you are doing splendidly as a house keeper. Do not hesitate to render your accounts. It is only by keeping track of the cost of things, and finding out an approximate monthly expenditure, that we can adjust our disbursements to our income. I have been counting upon it costing you £20 per month anyway to live over there. Now my pay and allowances amount in all to $4.70 per day. It takes about $1 per day to meet my overhead expenses in Canada, i.e. taxes, insurance premiums, etc. My expenses here with the utmost care will amount to at least the odd 75¢ per day for messing dues, etc. This leaves the $3 along with your separation allowance to keep the wolf from the door. You will soon be able to make an estimate of the monthly balance, if any, and we shall be in a position to know whether or not the thing can be done. I used always to think that a man had no right to ask a woman to marry him unless he were in possession of an assured income sufficient to meet all contingencies. You see how I have fallen from my high ideals. Of course I never thought I could love anyone as I do you. “A poor excuse” you will say “for subjecting one to a cheese paring existence”.

Some day I shall write you a real soulful love letter. You see I have to censor the letters written by the men under my command and as several of them have been recently married I am getting some good pointers. The other day one of our sergeants applied for permission got married and as I was the senior officer present I gave the necessary sanction. Couldn’t consistently do anything else could I?

Your letters each nearly always contain some reference that is quite lost on me, e.g. the one in your second letters of Jan 24 re Major Thomson and the peculiar inspiration you experienced. I haven’t an idea in the world who Major Thomson may be. Please be more explicit.

My batman was out to a village yesterday after my laundry and bought me a few envelopes of a kind. I was very nearly sending you a F.S. post card yesterday but was afraid to resort to such again after the reproof you once administered to me in that connection. The afore mentioned batman is the laziest & most inefficient one I have ever had inflicted upon me. If I were in the infantry I should know exactly what to do with him. I should send him up to do duty in the front line and take his turn in going over the bags.

I am so sorry for Miss Reid but think that the best thing that could happen to her would be to get invalided home to Canada. Am afraid I am inclined somewhat to be impatient with people who are ill much. This is very likely because I am so seldom ailing myself.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on November 26, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/11/26/france-feb-2-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

