France, Feb. 6, 1918

Dearest Wife: –

Your two letters of Jan 29 and 30 respectively reached me yesterday afternoon. I shall try to write to Enid to-night or to-morrow. I enjoyed her little letter very much.

I have just finished censoring the mail which will be going out in a short time. Am still living alone and find myself becoming somewhat tired of it. You might just as well be here and share the nisson hut with me. No one here would object to your having too many friends call on you.

Things have been a little livelier lately, this increased activity being due no doubt to the improved weather. We had quite a busy night of it. When I am not doing medical work I am busy putting the spurs into my very incompetent N.C.O. with whom I am afflicted. He is certainly without a doubt the poorest N.C.O. I have ever run across, and that constitutes a sweeping condemnation. I wish he would get drunk or commit some offence whereby I could get a crime lodged against him but the man has not even the energy to do anything wrong.

Had a big bunch of Calgary papers the other day sent by Dr. Chambers but otherwise no Canadian mail has reached me for some time.

We are getting splendid weather here now and at this time of the year every fine day takes one out of the winter. Yesterday was like a day in early April. Major Hardisty was in to see me this morning with the A.D.M.S.

You said something in your letter about leaving Inglenook? What do you propose doing? So you intend to remain in the Bramshott area? I signed a form and sent it off yesterday in connection with your drawing rations on repayment. Have you heard anything about your separation allowance? It should be increased $10 per month from now on.

Please excuse this very mean muddling sort of a letter.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on November 28, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/11/28/france-feb-6-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

