France, Feb 12, 1918

Dear Emma; –

I fully intended writing you last night but somehow did not feel in the mood for it. Any how the letters would not have gone until to day. I have just finished censoring the men’s letters and after I finish writing this I shall censor it myself also.

Since writing you the day before yesterday 3 of your letters have arrived, one dated Feb 4 and the other two both dated Feb 6. One of the latter enclosed Enid’s letter.

Yes, I received the letter in which you mentioned your early morning call to duty but you did not say anything about Major Thomson in that one. I am pleased to know that your patients are doing well. Had a letter yesterday from my brother in Vancouver. The letter was dated Jan 14 and in it my brother mentioned having written one on Jan 7. I never received the letter of Jan 7. That makes the second letter from my brother that I know of having been lost recently.

I saw Capt Fred Clark from Calgary yesterday. He made no reference to our proceedings of two months ago do day. Did we send him an announcement? I know I intended to do so but may have forgotten to give you his name. It’s too late now anyway.

Our weather still keeps fine but very windy. I do not like winds but they are preferable to snow and mud. We are getting quite a little work done around the huts at our station. We have several men who confessed a possession of ability in the line of agricultural endeavor busy making a start at a garden.

I am still living alone and no prospects of reinforcements are in sight. I expect to change over with another section before long.

It is now after 2 P.M. and I must close this and get busy checking over equipment.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on December 4, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/12/04/france-feb-12-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

