France, Feb. 17, 1918

Dear Wife; –

I had your letter of Feb 8 and also one from Margaret dated Feb 13, the day before yesterday but drew a complete blank in the line of letters yesterday. I am getting away behind with my correspondence again. For the past few days I have been fairly busy and besides have not had the letter writing spirit.

We are having fine sunny days now but the wind has gone around into the East and the nights are very frosty. I had a few men spading up a little ground for a garden but the ground has been frozen too hard lately for them to do any work. This morning I took a walk over a portion of our old line that we held over a year ago. There was a sort of melancholy pleasure in visiting the scene of our former activities. Some of our old trenches and the dugouts in which we used to live are still in fairly good condition. The place I had for an R.A.P. though has been destroyed.

I note that you have been indulging in speculations as to what might have been the several courses of our lives had we not chanced to meet. Such speculations are about as profitable as those of the little girl who used to wonder where she would have come in had her mother and father each married somebody else.

We had no church parade this morning but I had the men celebrate Sunday by scrubbing out their huts. I rather expect the Colonel along to see one this afternoon, it is so fine out. Have not had a horseback ride since I returned from leave.

I forgot to tell you that I received a letter for you addressed to my care yesterday. I shall enclose it in this if I do not forget to do so as I did in the case of your cousin’s letter the other day.

You said something in your letter about being sent home to Canada. Have you heard anything to that effect I hope it is not so, but if it is you may possibly avoid the net by going in for V.A.D. work or something of the sort. At any rate you are not likely to be sent home before I have another leave. By the way somebody told me that the leave period was to cut down to the original length, i.e. 10 days.

Be sure to send me one of the new photos. Good bye for present.

Yours lovingly
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on December 6, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/12/06/france-feb-17-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

