France, Feb 21, 1918

Dearest Emma;-

I fear I did not carry out my contract in regard to writing to you yesterday. I have your letter enclosing the one from Leonie which I very much enjoyed reading. I must send you the one I had from Mrs. Clarke after I get it answered. That was certainly a bright write up in the ‘Free Press’. I wonder who was responsible for it.

There were no letters from you in the mail yesterday or today, but today I received the two copies of “Life” and the pair of socks. Thank you ever so much. The socks are fine, but my dear girl do not bother to send me any more for a time for I have enough on hand to last me for another six months at least. You may however send me “Life” as often as you wish. I enjoy them.

It rained all afternoon yesterday but this morning the sun came out warm and bright. Life seems more worth while during fine weather. We should have the very best for our honeymoon No 2. We must really go to Scotland next time. If you get tired of me before the leave is over I shall go on up and pay a visit to the navy.

Yes, Mr Grant may write to you as often as he wishes, so may any of your friends so far as I am concerned. It would be a rather dreary business if getting married to me meant you breaking off diplomatic relations with all your former friends and acquaintances. Perhaps though you would like me better if I exhibited an active spirit of jealousy.

I have been wondering a great deal about your proposed move and how you are getting along with it. Did your household partner object to you having friends or what was the trouble? If you do not tell me I shall keep thinking that something terrible must have happened.

Thank you for the book you sent. It came at the same time as your last letter, 2 days ago. I forgot to mail you the slip I had from our paymaster but shall enclose it in this.
Goodbye.

Yours lovingly
Harold W. McGill

[Attached]

Maj. McGill

The attached is for your information and return please.
If in due course Mrs. McGill does not get an adjustment to cover your new rate of Pay (an extra $10 per month Sep A11) please let me know and I will remind them.
Capt. Pymr.

Published in: on December 11, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/12/11/france-feb-21-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

