France, Feb. 23, 1918

Dear Emma;-

Your two letters of Feb 14 and 15 respectively came yesterday. You will see that the later of them was a full week to reach me. I do wish the mails traveled a little livelier. The cross county mails make much better time now than formerly. Margaret’s letters get to me in two days. There is no reason that I can see why English letters should not get here within 3 days at the very most.

You were very mysterious in one of your letters, wondering if your letters were censored and hinting that you had something very important to say to me but being disinclined to write it. Now, my dear girl, if you have anything of importance to tell me, for heavens sake let me have it, no matter whether this news is of a distressing nature or otherwise never mind the censor, he is not a particle interested in anything unconnected with war affairs. If the matter is one of great importance I want to know about it, and if it is not, please refrain from hints such as you expressed in your letter of Feb 14. I have been worrying ever since your letters came yesterday and wondering what can be the trouble.

Our weather keeps quite mild and we are having things comparatively easy. I have a good billet, bed with sheets, a rug on the floor, and a closet in which to hang my clothes. I had my good serge done over by our regimental tailor yesterday and I am now wearing the rank badges of major _____. I was here interrupted by our mess orderly who wished to set the table for lunch. While we were waiting for lunch the mail man arrived bringing 3 letters to me from you. I feel much better since for they were lovely letters. All the other members of the mess were made envious by seeing me receive 3 letters by one mail. I am sure you will like your new home and am pleased to know that you and Mrs. Doughty parted on the best of terms.

The sun is coming out now and if the day is fine to-morrow I shall probably go for a horseback ride. I have not been on a horse’s back since I joined the ambulance. Did I say anything in one of my letters about making a change of unit? You made some reference to the possibility of in one of your letters that came today. Anyway I have no intention at present of applying for a transfer. As a matter of fact I should lose my rank of acting major if I left now.

I am afraid I shall have to take another stage in finishing this letter for in half an hour I must go and take my section out on a bathing parade. This morning I was busy trying to get a number of them fitted out with new clothing.

So Miss Drysdale knit the socks. It was most kind of her. I must write and thank her for them and also acknowledge the receipt of the note she enclosed in one of your letters. Many thanks for the flowers you enclosed. Are these snowdrops?

It is a most remarkable thing that the P.O. people cannot re-direct your mail. I suppose that sort of thing “isn’t done you know.” I presume your mail will be coming to the old address for weeks to come especially the Canadian mail. You spoke once about having a fixed address from where you could have your mail re-directed when you moved. You are not likely to be more than a few months at the longest in one place, are you?

I was much interested in your account of meeting Dr. Graham. He I believe is the first representative of the Calgary ‘Big 4’ to come on Overseas service and he is arriving about 3 years late. However his coming shows that he and his partners had at least some idea of the fitness of things and actions. Graham is not a bad chap but is very very close in regard to finance, almost as mean in that respect as your absent, penurious but always fondly loving husband.

I saw Mr. Mee yesterday and learned from him of poor Cameron’s death. It is too bad. I understand he had been back only a short time. I remember you mentioning in one of your letters of having met him.

I must close now an go on parade. Fondest love to you always my dear wife.

Your husband
Harold W. Miller

Published in: on December 12, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/12/12/france-feb-23-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

