France, March 4, 1918

My dearly loved wife;-

Please forgive me if I said anything to displease you in my letter of Feb 23. I was really very much worried though and feel ever so much relieved since I got your letter of Feb. 27 to day with the assurance that you had no secrets of a disquieting nature to disclose to me. Your letter of Feb 26 arrived yesterday. Our letters have been making a little better time recently.

Do not think that because you get another letter addressed to you in my hand with this one that I have written you the whole story of my life. I have merely sent you under seperate cover a letter that I received from my Baltimore friend about Christmas time. This letter is quite a characteristic example of the ones he used to send me and is the second last one I received from her. I have written her once since I came back from England. When we go home via New York we shall take a run down to Baltimore to see my friend Prof. Christie, and we can arrange a little party to which Christie could bring his friend Miss Hubbard. Would you be agreeable to a program of that sort? However it will be a long, long time before we see either New York or Baltimore if we remain over here until the war is over; and we are going to see it through, aren’t we?

Have you heard anything more about the Canadian women being sent home to Canada? I believe it would be a good thing to send all those who are not engaged in work of national importance. If you can get into some nursing work either in England or preferably in France you will be quite alright and feel under no obligation to go home. It would be a terrible thing if I were to have you run away from me to Canada so soon after we are married. Never have I looked forward to leave as I do to my next that is coming, and if you were not on hand to welcome me it would be indeed a most cheerless “Homecoming”. We must try to get you over to France I can see that. I wish you had been here this morning: you would have heard a real life sized bombardment.

The weather is cold and wet and although yesterday was Sunday I did not go out visiting any where. To day is very dull and e are just now going to have some afternoon tea to cheer us up a bit.

Worlds of love,

Yours ever,

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on December 19, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/12/19/france-march-4-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

