France, March 2, 1918

Dear Emma : –

It is just two years ago to day since I heard my first really intensive bombardment. It was the day the British retook the old “International” trench from the enemy. Since that date I have seen and heard many such bombardments, but the one that morning made a very vivid and lasting impression on my mind. Intensive artillery fire must have an appalling and terrifying aspect to the newly arrived soldiers and it is to their everlasting credit that almost to a man they face it without so much as flinching. At the time I spoke of above I expected to be back in Canada, married to you, (If you would accept me) and carrying on as a civilian practicioner by this time.

Your two letters of Feb. 23 & 24 came yesterday and the one of Feb 25 came to day. I was very pleased to read what Miss Hurcombe had to say. So Mrs. Smith is away from the C.G.H. Ted, an orderly who used to be there and who is now in our unit, told me the other day he had had a letter from one of the CGH [Calgary General Hospital] nurses, I think he said from Mrs. Edy-

The slip from the paymaster you mention is of no consequence and you may destroy it. I have already returned the correspondence to which it was attached. I referred to your separation allowance. You may continue to address me as “Major” if you wish. I note that you enclosed Miss Drysdale’s address. I think I addressed my letter to her “North Godalming”, instead of “Near Godalming”, but I presume she would get the letter alright. If she doesn’t I shall have an excuse to write to her again. Haven’t had any letters from Canada since the Lord knows when. I am enclosing in this letter the one I had from Mrs. Clarke. I thought it very nice. I answered it the day before yesterday. If everyone in Calgary had as high an opinion of my professional skill as Mrs. Clarke I should be able to make you a fairly respectable income when we finally return there, if we ever do. The Clarkes were always very kind to one.

Poor Reidie! I feel awfully sorry for her, and she certainly deserves better times than she is having. Please give her my very kindest when you see her or if you are writing.

The weather has turned very cold and a regular blizzard is in progress outside now. We have a nice warm mess room, though, and there is nothing for me to do out doors; so I shall just lie low until the weather improves.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

P.S. Leave perhaps, in another l or 2 months!

H W. McGill

Published in: on December 20, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/12/20/france-march-2-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

