France, March 5, 1918

Dear Emma ;-

Your letter of March 1 reached me this afternoon thus arriving within 4 days. I think this is the best yet. It is so much nicer to get letters within a few days than to have them over a week old before they arrive. Have you been able to get your Canadian parcel brought up yet? Who is the Capt Wray of whom you speak in your letters?

I believe this is the day you were to go to London. I hope that you may have a safe and successful journey, and get all the shopping you wish done. Tell me all about the trip when you write. Did Miss Drysdale go up with you? London should be fairly safe from air raids these nights if darkness is any protection for the Lord knows it is dark enough.

We have had several days of very dirty weather but the sun shone for a few hours to day. March has come in in rough fashion and we shall hope for a better ending. I particularly wish for fine weather next month and the month after, for it may just happen that I shall get away on leave during the one or the other and we must have fine weather for those little lovers walks through the beautiful places you have been describing to me. I am counting on May for leave, but such unexpected good luck may come my way as to allow me to go in April. Do you intend to meet me in London or shall I go down and remain a day in the Bramshott area? There is nothing like making our plans far enough ahead for the time will soon slip by now, unless of course leave is cancelled for an indefinite period which is by no means unlikely. I wonder why Miss Gunn thought I might be in England. Does she not know that the war is going on in France? No chance of any going to England for duty is in sight my dear girl.

Yours lovingly,

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on December 24, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/12/24/france-march-5-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

