France, March 7, 1918

Dear Wife ;-

I didn’t have any letter from you yesterday in fact no mail at all and none to day so far. I fully expect one from you today though. My section has taken over a detatched station and our runner who goes for the mail takes out the letters for the post. So henceforth I shall have to write before the incoming mail of the day arrives. I am not alone this time as one of the section officers is with me, and I expect the other back in a day or two. We are not worried and the weather has come out bright and sunny again.

In a few days more I shall be looking for a letter from you telling me all about your visit to London. You would be able to get the book on bridge there.

This is going to be a dismal and most uninteresting letter for there is an absolute dearth of news and I am not in a conversational mood. Somehow my letters always take the form of minutes and it is very rarely indeed that I can make any sort of an attempt to write a real letter. I am thinking quite a lot about leave these days and always of course about you, most of the time the two together. It is to be devoutly hoped that the period of leave may not be reduced to the old term of 10 days. Nobody from our unit is away on leave now and there are only two ahead of me on the list. I have never been in England during the early spring and am looking forward to my next leave with a great deal of anticipation. We shall certainly take to the woods and not even leave our address.

It may interest you to know that I am not in the shell zone area. Please do not make any calculations upon my remaining in England after my next leave. It would mean the sacrifice of all my prospects in the army and the war is going to last a long time yet. Are you getting enough to eat?

Your loving husband,

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on December 25, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/12/25/france-march-7-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

