France, March 9, 1918

Dearest Emma; –

Your two letters of March 3 & 4 respectively arrived this afternoon. I also had one from Margaret to day, but none from Canada although we continue to hear vague rumors of a Canadian mail having arrived in the country.

Margaret has not yet rejoined her unit and when her letter reached me I had just returned from a short visit there. We had a very sick patient going to C.C.S. this morning and I hopped on the car and went along. I had lunch with the officers of Margaret’s unit and was away altogether less than 3 hours. It was and is a beautiful day outside and I enjoyed the outing very much even if I was disappointed in not finding Margaret at home. I know nearly all officers of the unit. They expect to be doing business very shortly and will send for the nursing sisters just before opening.

I hope you had a good time in London and managed to get everything you need — or at least everything you urgently require. I do not suppose anybody ever acquires everything he or she needs. I am afraid I never sent you that list of our gramophone records. You may have been able to pick me a few anyway. It is wonderful what a comfort a gramophone is out here.

So my letters are getting poor again. I am very sorry, but really it is sometimes very hard for me express myself and I know my letters always wear a wooden expression. I shall try to do better, but one went off a few days ago that I feel quite sure will earn me another rebuke and a well deserved on.

Now, what have you been saying to Major Chown? I have no notion of going to England or of leaving my unit, for such a change would mean the loss of my A/majority. A transfer after my rank is confirmed would be no hardship but at present would not do at all. My dear, any influence that you may exert to have me recalled to England will distress me very much and I do hope you will not make the attempt. It is painful to me, having to write like this, but, my love, it is better for you to know that I shall resent any attempt on your part to bring influence to bear upon the C.A.M.C. in my apparent interest. Before now officers have been put in very unfavorable light because of efforts on the parts of their respective wives along the lines I have indicated.

The above sound so harsh and brutal that I hesitate to send it along. You are very dear and sweet to me and I would do anything rather have you think me unkind and ungrateful. I understand perfectly that you are only thinking of my good and comfort when you speak of my changing to English duty. Please, as the prayer book says, forgive anything I may have said amiss and tell me truly when you write that you are not offended, i.e. if you can. The runner is now waiting to take this letter to the post so I shall have to close. I shall try very very hard to write you a less disagreeable letter next time. To morrow will be Sunday and I am looking for a fine day.

Your ever loving husband
Harold W. McGill

P.S. Isn’t this a horrible letter?
H.W. McG.

Published in: on December 26, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/12/26/france-march-9-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

