France, March 10, 1918

My very dear wife; –

Your letter of March 5 is to hand this afternoon. It is a most beautiful day and I wish I could have a walk with you through the woods you spoke of in a former letter. I took a short walk this afternoon but was not away very long. When I came back I read your letter and several from Canada (Yours first of course) and then after that had a bath and change of clothes. I am at present wearing “Slacks” and feel quite as though I were on leave. After dinner I am going to walk up to Hq. and have a game of bridge.

My letter of yesterday was such a perfectly dreadful one that I felt that I must write you again this afternoon and assure you that I do and expect to always love you dearly even if I sometimes act and write like a savage. I suppose though that savages also love their wives despite the fact that they sometimes give strange proofs of their affection.

The day is to fine out that it seems that we should be soon coming to the end of the war. Really we are just starting a new war or the second phase of the first one. My dear, when peace finally comes I shall never want to leave your side again but until that comes the first thought and effort of everyone must be to circumvent the designs of the Hun.

This is March 10 and Margaret’s birthday so I shall have to write to her after I finish this. It is just 3 months ago to day since Col. Hewgill and I went out to Broadlands, and you met me at the door. You were wearing the purple or perhaps you call it lavender coloured dress in which I thought you looked very pretty. The fact that 3 whole months have gone since then makes me think that I shall soon have a chance to see you again. I am sending to my tailors for samples of material for a new serge and pair of riding breeches, for one must be well dressed while on leave in company with a particular wife of dainty tastes. I shall also forward my bank book to London in order to find out if I shall be able to take advantage of my leave warrant when it does really come.

Yours with greatest love
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on December 27, 2007 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2007/12/27/france-march-10-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

