France, March 14, 1918

Dear Emma; –

Your two letters of March 8 & 9, the latter containing the gramophone record account, reached me this afternoon. I did not have a letter from you yesterday or the day before but the ones that came to-day made up for the vacant days. The mail has gone out but I shall get this down to the unit P.O. by runner or perhaps take it down myself.

I have been very nervous the past few days fearing that you may be “mad” at me for the awful letter I wrote a short time ago. I had a peculiar dream about you the other night. I dreamed our unit was ordered to Italy and I was trying to get into communication with you. For some reason I was unable to do this and it worried my greatly to think that I should have to go away and not be able to let you know where I had gone.

Many thanks for the records. They have not arrived yet but should be along within the next few days. We have none of the records you specified in your letter. We shall look forward to the arrival of the lot you sent on, for some of those we have must be nearly worn out. One in particular is played nearly every day.

I am very pleased to know that Miss Carr is better. Did you get down in time to acquire my credit for your skill in nursing her back to health?

The weather is not quite so pleasant to day. It was raining in the morning when I got up. This soon stopped and a high raw wind has been blowing all day. I have just returned from our Hq. I am going out to dinner with another F. Amb. this evening. Last night I went out to a concert given by the A.F.C. in the Y.M.C.A. hut of the nearest village.

The day I wrote to you last, March 12, was the quarter mile part of our first year of married life. I suppose that because I neglected to mention the fact you will think I have ceased to love you. I really love you more & more all the time, especially when I hear of you going out of your way to help people in difficulties, as in the case of your midnight professional call. I wouldn’t scold a bit even if I heard that you had carried a parcel to the bus for some one.

Yours fondly
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on January 1, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/01/01/france-march-14-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

