France, March 21, 1918

Dearest Emma; –

Three days have passed and no letter from you has come to hand. Now I feel quite sure that you must be “mad” at me for the letter I wrote regarding my views on the question of a transfer to England. Last night I dreamed that I had a very stiff and formal letter in reply to the one I wrote on that occasion. I must confess that no letter at all is preferable to the one I had in my dream. If no letter comes to morrow I shall surely try to get the leave business into operation so that I may get over and “Square myself “ if such a thing is now possible.

My samples came to day and I have already written for a new Service Jacket and Riding Breeches. The expense will be terrible but who would mind expense when he has only two weeks to spend in company with his adored wife, and at that with a wife who has excellent taste and somewhat pronounced opinions on the subject of suitable dress for husbands.

Our inspection came off this morning and I think we made a fairly satisfactory showing. One of my section came on parade without a field dressing and I am sending him up to the O.C. to get his medicine in the morning. Otherwise the section was practically perfect.

It poured rain all day yesterday but the weather turned out fine and bright this morning, and the weather conditions for the inspection could scarcely have been better. We are all going up to the HQ. mess for dinner to-night in celebration of having got through our inspection.

We thought this morning that the much talked of Hun offensive must be starting. The artillery roared like a mill nearly all night and the sounds of firing were very violent at daybreak. I do not know yet what was going on but the Huns have not got back this far yet anyway.

Now that our inspection is over I shall jump on the first one of our cars that is going up to C.C.S. and make a call to see Margaret.

I am really devoting quite a lot of thought to the question of leave these days and am looking forward with a great deal of pleasure to the meeting with my sweet wife again.

I note that there if a proposal mooted to close all places of gathering and amusement in the south of England including London. If this is done we shall surely spend very little of our time on leave in the metropolis. Anyway it would be much nicer for us at this season to get out into the country where live things grow. I think it will have to be Scotland.

Write to me soon and often.

Your loving and contrite husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on January 8, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/01/08/france-march-21-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

