France, March 25, 1918

Dearest Emma

I did not have a letter from you yesterday and fully expected one to-day. I was again disappointed however for no letters of any kind game for me in to-days mail. I feel sure though that I shell get 3 from you to-morrow.

What do you think of this paper? It the best I have ever been able to get in France. I am sure that you must feel ashamed to get a letter at the Glen Lea written on army paper and enclosed in a cheap envelope such as I have been compelled to use lately.

Before I forget I must ask you to let me know how you are getting along in regard to finances. Please let me know exactly how much you require from me each month and I shall do my best to send it along. I know perfectly well how the prices of all necessities have soured. With the unit I get my rations and billet so do not feel the effect first hand as you do. I have to send $20 to Canada to pay an insurance premium and am having $35 per month assigned to The Royal Trust company in Calgary for the meeting of any overhead expenses there. I am inclined to think that it is a good thing my majority came through. How a married subaltern gets along I really cannot understand.

Yesterday was an altogether perfect day so far as weather was concerned. In the afternoon I went up with a car going to C.C.S. and saw Margaret. I had afternoon tea with the nursing sisters and enjoyed a very pleasant couple of hours in spite of the somewhat unfavorable military news and worse rumors. It would amuse you to hear some of the rumors that were current around here two days ago. I saw Miss Lynch, who is looking extremely well, and a number of the other nurses whom I had met when I called at the unit last October.

It is very windy and somewhat cold outside to day. Our men had a football match with another F. ambulance and beat them 3-2. The new records are being played quite frequently and are much appreciated. I forgot to tell you that I am back at Hq mess again having rejoined the main body.

Your devoted & loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on January 10, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/01/10/france-march-25-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

