France, March 31, 1918

Dearest Emma;-

After I posted my letter yesterday the mail came in and I had three letters, two from you and one from Margaret. Yours were the fine long letter written on March 23 and the one written on March 25 and containing the pressed flowers for which I wish to render you my hearty thanks. Margaret’s unit has been moved, and I was much relieved although her letter was filled with lamentation on account of the nursing sisters having to give up the nice quarters that had just been finished for them. They had nice billets alright but rather too close to the line for my complete peace of mind.

The arrangement re Petrograd Hotel which you outlined in your letter would be fine and when my leave comes again in less anxious times I shall have you put it into operation. Of course just at present as you will understand my leave is worrying me not at all. The stopping of the enemy’s advance is the only business of any importance whatsoever in the world at the present time. The situation has been a little better the past few days to judge by the news in the papers we get, or, to put it in a better way I should say that the situation has not been getting worse so fast lately as formerly.

Your second letter indicated some depression of spirits on your part. Cheer up, my girl, we mustn’t be downhearted. Things do not yet look as dark as they did in Sept. 1914. Of course I am willing to admit that that is not saying very much. In any case do not worry any over me. Whatever happens to me is of very small concern indeed so long as our cause is triumphant. As a matter of fact I am in next to no danger. Besides we have now as comfortable quarters as we have had for a dog’s age. Of course I do not know how long we shall be able to retain them.

To-day’s mail has not yet come in although it is 18:30 K. I am expecting another letter from you. Did I thank you for the note paper? It came alright and is fine. The box and one or two of the envelopes got wet in the wagon but the notepaper was not injured.

Goodbye and please be of good cheerful stout heart.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on January 16, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/01/16/france-march-31-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

