France, April 4, 1918

Dear Wife; –

Had five letters in the mail yesterday, one of which was yours of March 29. You should soon be getting some of mine that were written after the enemy offensive opened. Two of the letters I had yesterday were from Edith and the other from Edna. Both were exceedingly nice. I must try to answer them as soon as possible.

My batman has just informed me that he has some water ready for me to take a bath and I must make this a note and not a letter. I haven’t had my clothes off for 10 days so a bath will do me no harm. When I next go on leave I shall spend my time in sitting around in a bath robe and slippers next door a bathroom.

I saw my cousin Syd yesterday at the Hq. of his unit. He is scout officer of his battalion and had all his war paint on when I saw him. There was a terrible bombardment from our heavies from dark until mid night. To-day has been comparatively quiet probably on account of the steady down pour of rain that was in progress all morning.

Goodbye for present sweetheart.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on January 21, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/01/21/france-april-4-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

