France, April 10, 1918

Dearest Emma; –

Your two letters of April 4 and 5 respectively have just come in and pleased me very much. The news is very grave again to-day but by the time this letter reaches you it may have undergone some improvement. There is certainly plenty of room for improvement.

Yes I think if would be better for you to see Miss McDonald if you feel like going to work. Then you could try elsewhere if she had nothing to offer you. Really I do not think there is much chance of leave being reopened again this summer, certainly not while things are as they are at present. It’s too bad, but we shall have a good leave after we have won the war and the war is by no means lost by us yet even if the enemy does make advance here and there on our front. He cannot keep up his present pressure for very long and we shall simply have to hang on and take our losses until he exhausts his resources. This is not a very satisfactory way of conducting war I admit but it seems to be the only one available for us just now.

No, I have not lost any clothing but have seriously thought of discarding some for I am carrying around more than I need. For pity’s sake do not send me out anything to wear. So far our rations have been good and where we now are we are able to run a good mess. Thank you very much all the same. I know you wish to be doing something for my comfort, but I am sure that I am getting much more and better food than you are yourself. Now, my dear, do not worry any more over my clothes or food. You mentioned a pair of socks. I have now just about twice as many socks as I require. By the way I never got that letter off to Miss Taylor. During these anxious days I am scarcely writing to anybody except to you and an occasional letter to Margaret.

I saw several of the old Bn. the day before we came here, among them Col. Bell. He inquired very kindly fro news of your good self in his usual courtly way. He tells me that Mrs. Bell is still in Paris and that she intends to remain there for the present at any rate.

Good bye my dearest. She shall yet have our victory.

Yours ever
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on January 24, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/01/24/france-april-10-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

