France, April 14, 1918

Dearest Emma; –

I did not receive any letters yesterday but had four in to day’s mail, your two of April 8 & 9 respectively, one from Prof. Christie and one from Margaret. Prof. Christie asked me to forward his kind regards to you. Many thanks for the parcel which also arrived to day. I think we shall have a raisin pie made out of the raisins. Our cook makes very good raisin pie. I ate the piece of cake just after I opened the parcel.

It is very cold and dull to day and a very high N.E. wind is blowing. We have a padre attached to us now and he held service this morning. I did not attend as I was busy around the wards.

There was a terrific roar of artillery all night but I so not think that the enemy made any attack. He has made several small infantry attacks on our people but has been badly mauled on each occasion.

I wrote to Edith yesterday and shall get a letter away to Edna within a few days unless we get sudden move orders. When you write again please give me Miss Taylor’s exact address and also a description of the socks. I must write to thank her and am not in possession of all the data necessary.

This afternoon I have been busy making up our mess accounts as I am the secretary. We have a very good mess at present not because I am secretary but because we have a good location.

Your daily letter is a source of great happiness to me for if I miss one day I know that I shall probable get two on the day following. Margaret’s letter was quite cheerful in tone and extended me an invitation to call when possible. She also said she had written a friend of hers, a nurse Jamieson of Bramshott, asking her to call and see you.

With Best Love

Your husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on January 30, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/01/30/france-april-14-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

