France, April 16, 1918

Dear Emma; –

I did[n’t] get any letters yesterday but your 11 P.M. letter of April 9 came to-day. I trust that you had a pleasant and profitable trip to London, but surely you did not have to travel third class.

It is much more pleasant outside to-day for the sun is making an attempt to shine this afternoon. I presume that the battle is going ahead full blast but for the past 2 or 3 days the artillery fire has seemed less vigorous on our front. In any case we have had no move orders yet.

I am enclosing you a cheque for £20 which I trust will be helpful, especially after your trip to London. Please let me know when you write how you are off for funds.

I wrote to Edna yesterday and also to Margaret. It now looks as though it may be a long, long time before we shall be able to visit Edna and her husband in P.E.I. do not suppose that the anti conscription riots extend down as far as their part of the country. I was talking to a big corporal from Ireland this morning. He was greatly pleased that conscription was to be put into force in his country. There may be trouble over there but I do not think it will amount to much.

Please excuse this short note I do not feel much like writing to day although I am in the very best of health.

Your fondly loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on January 31, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/01/31/france-april-16-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

