France, May 8, 1918

Dearest Wife; –

Your letter of April 30 reached me yesterday and the one written on May 1 arrived to-day. You will observe that they are now taking a full week to come. I also received a letter from Miss Corbett to day in which she asked me to advise you not to go back to work. I shall write her in a day or two thanking her for the interest she has shown in your welfare.

Your sister Edith has very surely taken me up as a real member of the family, for yesterday I received a really splendid parcel from the Lockport Community Club of which she is an active member. The box contained all sorts of useful things, including a pair of socks, a towel, hankerchief,, a cake of soap, a fruit cake and other things, besides a package of cigarettes I gave to our O.C. as I do not smoke them to any great extent. The socks were knitted by Mary Gunn and the box was packed by Irene Sinclair who sent along the squeeze used in the packing. It would surely seem that with you I had acquitted many allied, although of course minor blessings. I have not answered Elo’s letter yet but shall do so one of these days.

It is a perfect day outside and I had made up my mind to go off for a ride on horseback this afternoon but did not carry out my resolution. The roads are very muddy although it is fine overhead for it rains hard nearly every night. Everything is growing very fast. It must be very nice to live in your part of the country at this time of the year.

Our mess has been reduced considerably in size as we have now several officers away relieving M.O.s of battalions, these last mentioned M.O.s having become ill. Our good padre was also ordered to report elsewhere and he departed yesterday. We are all very sorry to lose him for he was a first class chap and a big help at the station.

Bye Bye for present
With all my love
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on February 21, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/02/21/france-may-8-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

