France, May 21, 1918

Dear Emma;-

I did not have any letter from you yesterday and the mail is not in yet to-day although it is now 6 P.M. It has been a very hot day but quite enjoyable nevertheless.

9 P.M.
An interruption occurred just after I got started at this letter and now I shall try to make a finish of this short note before the mail closes. We have to censor the letters of our patients and personnel to-night. We do this every night after dinner. Since beginning the letter the mail has come in and I received your letter of April 15 describing your trip to London and the “Layout” of your new sphere of duties. From your description I should judge that it is none too promising but hope that you will not find it too bad. If the work is too hard for you or the hours unreasonably long do not stick it.

We are not busy here now and I am keeping in the best of health. We have to wear our box respirators one hour every day now for practice. It is quite an inconvenience but I believe the idea is sound.

I have not been doing any letter writing lately except the ones I send to you, if they can be called letters. Consequently I have quite a pile of unanswered ones on hand. I had intended answering Enid before this but have not done so. Had a letter from my cousin in China yesterday and to-day had one from Frances in Winnipeg.

The big enemy offensive still hangs fire but it is undoubtedly coming. I do not think though he can again turn the trick he did on March 21. Personally I am now having the easiest time that I have had since the war began. You need not worry over me. You yourself are probably working twice as hard as I am and have less comfort. I wish I could see you again to tell you how much I love you.

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on March 5, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/03/05/france-may-21-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

