France, May 25, 1918

Dearest Emma;-

I did not have any mail yesterday but to-day received your two letters written on May 18 and 20 respectively.

Our sports program did not come off yesterday as the rain poured steadily all day. We had a moving picture show in the afternoon and a concert at night. The A.D.M.S. and D.A.D.M.S. dined with us, and after dinner they went to the concert with all of our officers except two of us who remained behind to censor the letters. The concert was very good and was put on again to-night. Capt. Dunham and I went to night. There was also quite a big bunch of British officers present. The concert was from one of the Canadian battalions and was much appreciated. It contained a sketch taken from the “Bringing Up Father” pictures and was excellent. Jiggs and Maggie were both perfect and I nearly went into convulsions.

General Bells’ brigade was holding an afternoon of sports to-day and Col. Kappele and I went over. I saw General Bell who inquired for you in his usual kindly manner. I think the General is quite satisfied I have made a judicious move in getting married and I am sure he is right. He will be fully convinced when he has the pleasure of meeting you which I hope he will in the not too distant future.

Could you send me some more envelopes like this one, please? I have plenty of note paper but my envelopes are nearly done. If you can send me a package I shall be infinitely obliged to you. Please excuse this hastily and badly written scrawl.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on March 11, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/03/11/france-may-25-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

