France, May 31, 1918

Dearest Emma; –

I did not have a letter from you yesterday but the drygoods stock, or should I say haberdashery ? arrived. My dear, I asked you to send me one suit of underwear, not a whole wardrobe. I already had one light suit of underwear and two heavy. I also had three top shirts, two heavy and one light weight. However the mind of my batman has now been set at rest for he seems quite pleased with my new clothing. He intends to get some marking ink with which to put my name on the clothing. The handkerchiefs and tie were quite superfluous. I had three handkerchiefs so that I could always depend on a spare one even when one was in the wash and none of my ties are nearly worn out yet. However the underwear is just the thing I needed and I may be able to make use of the other things some day provided I can get the transport to carry them.
As evidence of my appreciation I took a bath this afternoon and put on new things all around, underwear, top shirt, collar & tie. I shall be able to go without my serge now on hot days without causing people to comment upon the condition of my shirts. Really though I didn’t need any new top shirts.
Your letter of May 24 came to hand this morning and I was as always very pleased to hear from you. I hope you are still finding life and conditions at Roehampton House at least tolerable. You will probably be able to see quite a few of your friends who come up to London. How far are you from Charing Cross which I presume is considered the centre of London? Did you see that Grant had been mentioned in dispatches, at least I presume it is our Grant, Lt. E.G. Grant of Alberta Regt.
The weather here lately has been much like that of Alberta, warm days and with quite chilly evenings and nights. The only fault with the nights is that they are too fine & clear.
I am pleased to know that you have heard from Margaret. She has not written to me for some time. I am somewhat anxious about her for the Germans have been doing a lot of bombing hospitals and clearing stations. We had a moving picture show this afternoon but I did not go except for a few minutes. I was busy going around with a couple of officers on another field ambulance showing them our station. They may take over from us but we shall not be badly disappointed if they do not show up for some time.
Let me hear from you soon often and at great length. Also do not build your hopes too high in regard to my getting leave this summer.
Yours fondly
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on March 17, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/03/17/france-may-31-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

