France, June 8, 1918

Dearest Emma;-

Your letter of June 1 came this morning arriving as you will see a day after yours of June 3. I think though that the latter must have been incorrectly dated as it bore the postmark of June 2.

Now please do not send me any more notepaper at present. I have plenty to do me for some time and an excess only means extra weight when we are moving. I have now quite a few letters to answer and I shall try to do one every day or every other day until I get caught up.

The weather here remains monotonously regular. It clouded up last evening and a few drops of rain fell but not to amount to anything. The cloudy night furnished us one benefit though. We did not have any bombing planes around.

I have just had a bath and put on clean clothing with “Slacks”. I am wearing one of my old shirts just to show you that I am more or less independent of the ones you sent. I shall need a special limber for my baggage when we come to another move.

This will have to be a very short note for I have nothing of interest to tell you. I just wish to say Hello: to you and to assure you of my undying affection.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on March 25, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/03/25/france-june-8-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

