France, June 17, 1918

Dearest Emma; –

Was pleased to have your letter of June 13 this morning. I hope you are now feeling better since you went to the hut. Evidently your late ward is killing off your successors rather rapidly.

I went on duty again this morning but have been taking it easy all day. I have fully recovered from my illness but feel rather shakey still. A few days will put me back in good shape.

Col Kappele and Capt Clark were up at No 4 C.C.S. the day before yesterday. They recovered my cane which I had left in the C.O.s room when I was up there a week or two ago. I have not heard from Margaret since I was up, and on the other hand must confess that I have not written her myself.

Several 31st Battn. Officers including Major Spencer were in to tea with us this after-noon. We have one of their officers, the Q.M. here as a patient.

I note that you have been having strawberries and must say I greatly fear I shall miss the strawberry season this year. Do you remember some good ones we had in Hatchett’s last summer?

Now about going home to Canada I must say that I had given the matter very little thought after writing you on the subject. Anyway I have heard no more about it. I have never heard what position I was required to fill but do not imagine that it would be one of much importance. I told Margaret about the offer but cannot recall that she expressed any opinion as to the advisability of my accepting it. It is unlikely that we shall hear anything further of it.

The weather keeps miserably cold for the time of the year, also very dry. The sky is cloudy this evening a circumstance to noted with satisfaction.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on April 1, 2008 at 10:17 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/04/01/france-june-17-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

