France, June 22, 1918

Dear Emma; –

Your letter of June 17 came this morning. I hope you continue to feel better than when you were working so hard a short time ago. I saw in the paper that the epidemic of influenza that we have here has reached England and that all sorts of people are ill of it. I trust that it may pass you by. I am pleased that I am through with my bout but one in the family is quite enough to have it.

It has been a cool windy day but very little rain had fallen. We rather enjoy the cloudy nights during the full of the moon and I dare say you do also. I wonder when we shall have some more warm weather.

I should have written to Elo thanking her for the cake before this but have not done so. I wrote to my brother last night and answered his five letters. One can do a great stroke of business and clear up a lot of unanswered letters by answering five at a time.

Do you ever hear from the people at Broadlands now, or have they a sort of drifted out of your circle? They were certainly very good to you when you were down there and I have a most kindly feeling towards them in consequence. I do not suppose that you have seen or heard anything of Col. Hewgill since you went up to London. I saw in the paper an account of the big reception that Lt. Cal Cross received upon his return to Regina.

I should have mailed you a cheque earlier in the month than this but am waiting until I receive the bill of those clothes you were kind enough to buy for me. Please hurry it along. How are you for funds?

Have heard no more about leave, but know that Capt. Moses, who if ahead of me on the list of this unit, has not gone yet.

Hope to see you before too very long.

Yours lovingly
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on April 7, 2008 at 8:55 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/04/07/france-june-22-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

