France, June 24, 1918

Dear Emma;-

You have been very good in your letter writing lately and I am getting them quite regularly. Yours of June 19 came yesterday and those written on June 18 and June 20, respectively, reached me this morning. I think you have made a mistake in your dates though. The letter of June 18 was, it is quite certain, written after that dated June 19 which I received yesterday.

Now about that bill; I want it, so please send it along and I shall remit you the amount with your monthly cheque.

I am pleased to know that Leacock’s have a young son and sincerely hope that the ordeal will not have been such a strain on Dr. Leacock as to impair her chances of shaking off the attack of TB. When will she start for Canada? I hope that I shall get over on leave before she goes.

There has been a drizzling rain falling nearly all afternoon and the temperature is quite low. The sky is cloudy to-night which is one thing we have to be thankful for. My room was so cold this afternoon that instead of writing to you as I should have done I put my great coat over me and lay down on the bed. I went to sleep and when I woke up it was nearly time to go to the movies. We shall all miss the movies when we go away from here.

It is just six months ago to-day since I kissed you good bye at Victoria Station. I had no idea then that such a long time would elapse before I had another chance to kiss you or I should have given you two or three more. However it may not be so very much longer before we meet again.

Please excuse this very short letter. I have to censor mail now.

Your always loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on April 8, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/04/08/france-june-24-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

