France, June 26, 1918

Dear Emma; –

There were no letters from you either yesterday or to-day and I am beginning to fear that you have been taken down with this epidemic fever that is going the rounds. I am expecting a couple of letters from you in to-morrow’s mail though.

I wrote to Elo yesterday and to-day I shall try to get a letter off to Margaret. It is 3 weeks ago to day since I last saw her and have had no word from her since. The O.C. of her unit lost his only son in the R.A.F. the other day. The boy was only 19 years of age and had been in France but a short time. I feel very sorry for his father Col. Campbell whom I have known for many years. I heard that his son’s machine was shot down and fell in no man’s land. Col. Campbell was sent for and when he got to the scene of the fatality he found that the body had not been recovered. The story has it that the father went out between the lines alone in daylight and brought in his son’s body.

The weather keeps miserably cold for the season, much different from last June which was very hot. We had a little rain last evening but nothing to amount to much.

We are kept fairly busy just now especially with a flood of cases from this new epidemic disease. It is called influenza but I doubt if this diagnosis is correct. The trouble does not last long enough for influenza but of course it may be an unusual type.

I am enclosing you a cheque for 15 pounds which I am afraid is rather over due. Did you see in the paper that the pay of medical officers (Canadian) was to be increased. I am altogether in favor of this but up to date have obtained no particulars of the proposed increase.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on April 9, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/04/09/france-june-26-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

