France, June 27, 1918

Dear Emma; –

I must be getting very absent minded for yesterday I sealed up my letter to you without enclosing the cheque that I intended to send. I shall try not to forget this important detail to-day.

Your two letters of June 21 & 22, respectively, came to hand this morning and I was quite relieved to know that you had not been laid up. I have been thinking about you all my spare time lately and am beginning to wonder myself when I shall get leave. There is certainly none in sight just now and I do so want to see you once again. I shall consider myself lucky if I get over within the next two months. But at the rate leave is being granted it will be nearer two years before my turn comes.

I did not write to Margaret after all yesterday but shall try to do so this afternoon. There is a new film at the picture show to day. I shall probably go. The performance begins at 5:30 P.M. It is now twenty to three. I started my letter writing early this afternoon in order that I could get my letters finished before the time for the movies. There was Canadian mail in this morning but none for me. I received the “life” and Canada for which please accept my thanks.

I remember Mrs. Craig quite well. She had lunch with us the day you came up from Bramshott. I remember you did not arrive on the train you said you would and I missed you at Waterloo.

How long have you now been at Roehampton House? You speak of your intention of spending three months there and I have been wonderful how much longer you would have to put it to make up that period. I hope I shall be able to get over while you are still in London. Next Winter we shall try to arrange spending our leave in France. I must in the mean time attempt to acquire some knowledge of the French language.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on April 10, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/04/10/france-june-27-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

