France, July 8, 1918

Dear Emma; –

I had no letter from you yesterday but yours of July 2 came to day. I am pleased to know that you were feeling better and trust that by this time you will be quite well. Do not be in too great a hurry to get back to duty for you will not feel capable of much effort for two or three weeks after your fever has completely gone.

It’s a nice warm summer day —- . At this I was enticed out doors to play a game of baseball “B” Section vs Officers. The men won by a score of 8 – 6, scoring 4 of their runs in the last innings. It is now 6:15 P.M. and I shall have to go to dinner in a few minutes. This warm weather suits me exactly and I never felt better in my life. I only wish we may have our leave in Scotland before the chill of Autumn comes. One of our officers went off this afternoon to relieve a M.O. of a unit who was going on leave. Hence I still ‘ave ‘opes. The amount of leave granted has really been increased in our division but to what extent I do not know.

The sinking of that hospital ship was indeed a very terrible affair, and I feel sure that the next time our Canadian boys raid the Hun trenches there will be a little suffering done by our friends the enemy. An officer (German) captured a short time ago by our men asked why it was that the Canadians hated the Germans so much. I see that in reply to questions in the House, Mr.Bonar Law stated that the government had the question of convoying the hospital ships “Under consideration”. I have decided that it’s no use, the British government will never never wake up.

I saw Margaret again yesterday. Two other officers and myself went up to the C.C.S. in the afternoon and spent a couple of very pleasant hour at the nursing sisters’ mess. Our excuse for going up was to obtain a pair of crutches for our O.C. who sprained his ankle very severely two day ago in a game of baseball. Margaret is looking well and is in the best of spirits.

Good-bye Love I hope you are well.

Your adoring husband
Harold W. Mcgill

Published in: on April 22, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/04/22/france-july-8-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

