France, July 12, 1918

Dearest Emma;-

Yesterday I received your letter of July 3. You will remember that I had yours of July 4 the day before, and the one of July 5 the day before that again. It looked as though you were getting further away from me all the time. Today though I was overjoyed to receive two letters from you, those of July 6 and 7 respectively. You did not say a word about how you were feeling but I should judge from the fact that the latter epistle was penned with ink that you are feeling better. I like to think so anyway. I shall expect your next letter from Broadlands but will address this as heretofore.

The notepaper you noted was bought for me by somebody, but he was one of my section officers, and the purchase was made last March. It is the best I have ever been able to buy in France. The paper is so strong and the sheets so large that I have been using it for my letters to Canada. I still have some paper and quite a few envelopes left. Do not bother to send me any more just yet please unless you object strongly to receiving letters written upon the military stationery I am now using.

One year ago this afternoon I rejoined my battalion after the most pleasant leave I have ever had except one other, and that evening was back in the trenches. If I remember correctly I wrote you my first love letter on paper something like this about midnight in my dugout. I remember the first few letters I had from you worried me considerably. You talked as though you hadn’t quite made up your mind to accept me. I also remember quite distinctly what happened 7 months ago today. I wonder how many more months must elapse before we may have that second honeymoon of ours.

The weather has broken at last out here and we have had a couple of very wet days, almost like the weather we had in the beginning of August last year when we were up near Lens preparing for the offensive against Hill 70. Yesterday afternoon we had a series of very heavy showers. This morning there was a steady downpour falling when we got up and except for brief intervals rain has fallen all day. All our sports have had to be postponed in consequence.

How is Dr. Leacock getting along? You have not mentioned her in any of your last few letters. Has she left for Canada? Well, I must close now. Hope you have gotten down to Broadlands as you hoped to do. If so give the Drysdales my very kindest regards.

Your always loving husband

Harold W. McGill

P.S. Do you really object very much to this style of writing paper?

Published in: on April 24, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/04/24/france-july-12-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

