France, July 14, 1918

Dearest Wife;-

I did not have any letter from you yesterday but am expecting one from you this evening when the mail comes up with the rations. I am anxious to know whether or not you have managed to get down to Broadlands. I hope you did. I hear there is some Canadian mail in to-day, but since you have been writing me every day from England Canadian mail has not the same interest for me that it used to. I have not heard from Margaret since I was up to see her a week ago to day.

We are having splendid weather here now with just enough rain to keep things fresh and clean. In another month though we shall be making preparations for another winter. I wonder when the Hun is going to put on his next big offensive. He will have to get a move on if he is to force a military decision this year. Last evening was very clear and bright and the airplanes were having the time of their lives. I have never had my ride in one yet. I suppose I shall get a chance before the war is over.

Our unit has had no leave except for Paris leave granted it so far since the spring campaign began and Capt. Moses who is the only one ahead of me on the list is patiently waiting for his. If he gets away at the end of this month I might begin mine about the middle of August provided I could leave immediately upon his return. However we shall see what we shall see.

Please excuse the brevity of this letter and also the paper upon which it is written. I may write again to-morrow after I have read the letter I expect from you to-day.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on April 28, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/04/28/france-july-14-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

