France, July 16, 1918

Dearest Wife;-

It will be soon 8 months since I left you and I feel quite sure you are not longing so much as I am for us to be together once again. I still have hopes of getting away on leave before Winter. I should like to spend our next leave in Scotland as we planned, and then in the winter when leave is easier to obtain we shall arrange to go to Southern France.

Your letter of July 10 enclosing the flower came the day before yesterday and the one written July 9 came yesterday. I expect to get one from you to night written on July 8. Thank you ever so much for the flower. What is it? I am very pleased to know that you were able to get down to Broadlands, but it is really too bad you could not have had a longer time to stay.

This is I think the hottest day we have had since the beginning of May. We had a big thunderstorm during the night and this afternoon it is hot and muggy. We shall likely have more rain to-night. This is the third hot July I have seen in France although of course I have not yet seem all of this one. The recent rains have done a lot of good.

I am sorry to hear that Mr. Burrell is nervous about coming over to France. It is, and is likely to be for some time “No bon” for people who are troubled with nerves. England is a nice country in which to do one’s soldiering, but personally I prefer to pick the safest place possible somewhere in the vicinity of the war at least, i.e. so long as I am pretending to be a soldier. I suppose though that the next time I get into a good stiff hostile bombardment I shall be wishing to Heaven that I had accepted the offer of the job in M.D. No. 13 back in Canada. It would take a real heavy strafe, though, to make me take a military position under the command of McGuffin who is now ADMS in the aforementioned district.

Canadian mail reached us last evening. There was a big sackful of papers for my section, and I received four or five bundles myself from Dr. Chamber. There were quite a few copies of “Saturday Night” among them and Capt. Dunham and I have been reading them to-day. I also had a letter from my brother. Dr. Chambers is not much of a letter writer; i.e. he doesn’t often write although his letters are very good when he does. However, he is always sending me papers and tobacco. Chambers is one of the very best. I suppose you know him better than I do and can vouch for the soundness of my judgment in this instance.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on April 29, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/04/29/france-july-16-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

