France, July 18, 1918

Dearest Emma;-

It seems to me that I have had about a dozen letters from you since I wrote to you the day before yesterday. Really I have had 4 but one letter from you is worth 3 ordinary ones to me. Yours of the 9th came the night before last and that of July 11 last night. Then to-day I received two, those of July 13 & 14, respectively. Ordinarily these would not have reached me until after I had sent my letter away, but to day a car came up from Hq. at noon, and our mail came up on it instead of waiting for the ration car to-night which will take back the outgoing mail. Many thanks for the markers which I have turned over to my batman Scotty MacLean, much to his satisfaction. Canadian mail came in to-day and I had one letter from my brother and one from Mrs. Clarke.

Yes, it was a great pity about Capt. Morris and Lieut. Mee. I knew them both well, also Irvine the other officer who was killed at the same time. All had been with the battalion since it was mobilized. Morris especially was a very valuable officer and the unit will feel the loss of him. I do not remember the Miss Fraser whom you mention as having been lost on the hospital ship. That sinking was a very bad business.

Yesterday and the day before were very hot. The weather is much cooler to day and squalls of rain are coming over with a very high wind. Capt. Dunham is now up the line visiting our posts. I expect him back in about half an hour. I shall probably make the rounds to-morrow.

I am pleased to know that your ward is not so heavy as formerly and hope that it will remain so for a time at least. Are you getting any parcels from Canada now? Good bye for present. I shall try to write you at greater length in a few days.

Yours lovingly

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on April 30, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/04/30/france-july-18-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

