France, July 22, 18

Dearest Emma; –

Your letter of July 17 came to hand this morning, also the enclosures, i.e. the letters to you from Enid, Mrs. Flesher & Miss Hurcomb, respectively. I found these letters very interesting indeed. Was sorry to hear that the Mrs. Wooster whom Miss Hurcomb mentions had lost her husband and two sons, one of the latter in the war. I knew them all quite well. I had treated the elder son for V.D.H. and it was probably from broken compensation that he finally died. I had not previously heard of these people having died. Of course I have scarcely any chance of finding any trace of the missing son. In the first place I do not even know to what unit he belonged. I think I shall write to Mrs. Wooster expressing my sympathy in her loss and asking for some particulars regarding the military service of her missing son.

Mrs. Flesher writes a very good and quite characteristic letter. I could almost imagine I heard her talking when I was reading it. The Fleshers were a very likable couple. I note that their daughter is now a year old. Those who were children when I left Canada will be grown up, married and rearing children when we get home. Enid I suppose will now be down at Wpg. Beach . I hope she is getting her strength entirely recovered. She mentions having had a letter from me.

Your will perceive of course that the notepaper you were kind enough to send me has arrived. It came this-morning with the letters. It is very nice paper suitable for using in writing to a sweet and very lovable lady. Thank you ever so much. I notice that after I send you a letter or two written on paper from A.B.152 you always present me with a box of stationary. Now my dear girl why must you rush off to buy some and send me some thing?

My kit is already much overweight and I have been thinking seriously of making parcels of some of my extras and mailing them to you for safe keeping. The reason why I have not done so is that I have as you know had some hope of going on leave before the leaves fall (I mean the leaves on the trees and did not mean to be funny). However if it will cause you to love me any more you may send me a nice shaving brush, for my old one is much the worse for wear.

There is a crowd in the mess discussing aeronautics and it is very difficult for me to concentrate my thoughts upon the work in hand. At times I have almost begun to write you concerning bombs and parachutes. I may not get a chance to write you to-morrow but shall do so if I get a chance.

I am very happy in the thought that we did not postpone our marriage. Had we not been married last December the Lord only knows when we should have been able to do so. It would have meant a delay of a year anyway, and if we had decided to wait until the end of the war Wow! It is hard to realize that it is now nearly 4 years since I gave up my practice in Calgary.

Good bye for now Sweetheart.

Yours fondly
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on May 6, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/05/06/france-july-22-18/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

