France, July 24, 1918

Dearest Emma; –

I had 3 letters yesterday, one from you, one from Enid and one from my sister-in law. To day I received only one, but it was a good one, being yours of July 20. Enid tells me that she expected to go to Wpg. Beach about July 1. I hope she was able to do so.

Yesterday we did a march of a little more than ten miles. The rain poured in torrents nearly all the time we were on the road and there was a high driving wind. We were like a lot of drowned rats when we got in. I changed all of my clothing except the strap of my wrist watch. I was mighty glad to have dry things to put on.

My batman, Scotty Maclean, wants to know where those markers are to be obtained as he wishes to get some for himself. His name is J.O. Maclean. I should be greatly obliged if you could get a few for him.

It is now 8:15 P.M. I had intended writing you before dinner but Capt. Petrie, my successor with the 31st, came in just when I was about to begin, and my proposed operation was canceled. Petrie tells me that Col. Doughty is now on leave. None of our officers have gone on leave yet. I am second on the list in our unit as I must have told you before, but there are I know officers with the other ambulances who are ahead of me.

There is a beautiful clear sky to-night and the wind has hone down. The night will likely become lively after the moon comes up. Do you ever see the Saturday Evening Post? There is a fine article in the issue of June 22 called “The Horrors of Moonlight”

Your ever loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on May 7, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/05/07/france-july-24-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

