France, July 25, 1918

Dearest Emma; –

Had 3 letters in the mail again to day but the one I especially wanted was not among them. I shall expect two from you to-morrow. The letters I received to-day were all from Canada, one from my brother, one from Frances and one from a cousin in Toronto.

Frances is leaving Winnipeg and going to the Government Bacteriological Laboratory in Regina. She is to receive a salary of $3000.00 per year. She does not like leaving Wpg. as she has a lot of friends there, and has enjoyed her work. However she has been working very hard for several years and lately has not had the best of health. She has been steadily losing weight for some time past. I hope that she will have shorter hours and less work when she goes to Regina. Herb tells me that she works very long hours and does not rest much when she is away from her duties.

It is just 7 months to day since I returned from leave, when I went on leave last June I had put in just over 8 mos. without leave, so I shall really begin to look for my warrant after the expiration of another month. Capt Moses has just put in another application to remind the powers that be of the fact the he has not yet been given his leave which is due.

Last night was an almost perfect one for poets and lovers in the war zone. There was a beautiful moon and the night was warm and still. Shortly before midnight I heard a flock of planes flying over. I got out of bed to have a look, and was much relieved to fine that they were our gallant fellows on their way to bomb the unspeakable Hun. As Geo. Pattullo says, there is a great difference between the sound of the Allied machines going over on the perfectly legitimate occupation of bombing the dirty Boche, and the sound of the planes carrying the murderous marauders of the Kaiser, intent upon the committing of their midnight atrocities. The sky looks as though it might be cloudy to-night. In spite of the clear moonlight last night I did not hear a single Hun bomb burst all night.

How much longer do you expect to remain at Rockampton? Are your hours as long as formerly, and are you getting enough food? I was horrified to read in your letter that a steak that you spoke of having had was the first you had eaten since I left London last Winter. Now my dear girl, I don’t want to find you a wreck when I finally do go on leave. Please try to make something up in both food and rest during the next two months for I shall be much disappointed if we do not see each other within that time.

Herb, my brother, spoke in his letter of having met a Capt. McKendrick who spoke in the highest terms of your own sweet self. I do not know this Capt. McKendrick, but I perceive that he is a man of keen discernment.

Your loving husband
Harold W. McGill

Published in: on May 8, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/05/08/france-july-25-1918/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

