France, July 28/18

Dearest Emma: –

Your letter of July 23 enclosing the one from your aunt arrived yesterday. There was not a scrap of anything in the mail for me today. I forget at times to acknowledge the receipt of “Canada” which you are sending to me. I often see items of interest in it concerning people whom I know.

The rainy weather still continues. It poured nearly all day yesterday. To day has been dull and gloomy but so far we have had no rain. I think we shall have some before night though.

I was at church parade this morning. We had a joint parade with my old battalion. We are billeted in the same town, and the service was held in our grounds.

Lt Col Doughty is still away on leave. Capt. Juvett was over to see me last night. Most of the officers in the battalion now are strangers to me. I saw Lieut. Ainliffe on parade this morning.

My cousin was in to see me yesterday afternoon. He has been very busy with his battalion scouts, practicing and training. He claims to have the best section of scouts in the Corps but of course I am by no means convinced that it is so. It is well though that he should be of that opinion.

I have had only one letter from Margaret since I was up to see her 3 weeks ago.

We are having quite an easy time now and are in comfortable quarters. We had some fine cantaloupe ( I am not sure of the spelling) for lunch to-day. It was really quite a treat to me being the first I have tasted since I left Canada.

Your loving husband

Harold W. McGill

Published in: on May 13, 2008 at 8:00 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://missgriffis.wordpress.com/2008/05/13/france-july-2818/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

